Graduating from a crutch to a cane during lisfranc recovery

 

Actively recovering from Lisfranc surgery has been the bulk of my life recently and I have made enormous progress towards walking again!
For the past two weeks I have been going to HydroWorx therapy 6 days a week, physical land therapy 2 times a week, and also doing my at home exercises twice a day.

My physical therapist was on vacation over the 4th of July so another therapist filled in for her.  Last week, he tried to move me to the next step in recovery which is to use the cane instead of a crutch.  At that point, I didn’t have the balance or the strength in my recovering foot to manage a cane.

This week, my regular physical therapist was back and she couldn’t believe the progress I had made during the last 7 days since we last  met!  She had me walk for her without my crutch and was stunned. 

I filled her in on my progress in HydroWorx therapy and she said she wished all her patients had access to a HydroWorx pool.  We both believe my HydroWorx therapy has greatly accelerated my recovery.

She handed me a cane and explained how to use it and after a few wobbly attempts, and some additional guidance from her, I have now officially graduated from a crutch to a cane!  

I can now use my cane while wearing sneakers in my home, and use the cane while in my boot in unfamiliar surroundings!

Good-bye crutches!!!

 
 
2 comments
  1. Chris said:

    Can you be a little more specific as to what exercises / activity you did at home that may be helping? I’m going to transition next week from a walker to cane post one year and two ankle surgeries, which included 4 broken bones, ‘frozen’ ankle (like frozen shoulder), tendon repair, achilles tendon lengthening, and nerve damage to ankle. I just got a cane like yours, and have been told after one year ‘off my feet’ from the surgeries and long recover, my balance and strength is off. I’ve been in rehab for 3 1/2 months and start cane this week. I know ‘confidence’ is key here. I am 57 yrs old. Anything you’ve experienced would be helpful! Much luck on your recovery too!! These injuries are nasty!!

    • pinkeyp said:

      I am so sorry you are going through such a difficult recovery period! Congratulations on your “upgrade” to a cane! That is a HUGE step for you! My physical therapist gave me 5 different at home exercises which I do twice a day. I will take a picture of the exercise sheet and post it on my blog. That might be easier than trying to describe the exercises. I would recommend asking your therapist if it is ok for you to try these exercises, since your injury is different from mine and you may have different limitations.

      The thing I have found to be most helpful in my recovery in learning to walk again in water. Water takes most of the weight off my foot so that I can re-learn the movements for walking with a limited amount of pain. I have been using a HydroWorx pool (under water treadmill with a sports trainer) but a swimming pool would work to. Do you have access to a swimming pool? Again, check with your personal therapist to see if he/she thinks that might help in your own recovery.

      I wish you only the best as you continue to travel the tough recovery journey.

Leave a Reply

