new technology for Lisfranc surgery

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, June 17, 2013

New technology for Lisfranc injuries and fusions

 
I had my 5 week post lisfranc surgery appointment last Friday and my surgeon said my healing couldn’t be more perfect! Together we looked at the 3 x-rays he had taken of my foot, and then he showed me the before surgery and after surgery x-rays plus a side view.  I commented that I had done some internet research on the titanium  plate he drilled into my foot and discovered it is new “state of the art” technology.  He smiled and said yes it is!  I mentioned to him that I was writing a blog, so he took pictures of my x-rays so that I could post them in my lisfranc blog:
    

                                      This is before surgery

Note the space between my first 2 metatarsals and how the metatarsal joints are out of alignment.

         This is 5 weeks following lisfranc open reduction surgery

Note the placement of the new titanium plate which corrected not only the space between my first two metatarsals, but aligned my joints once again.
 
 
 

This is a side view which shows how the plate is screwed into my metatarsals and cuneiform joints

 
 
 
 

This new titanium plate came on the market in 2012.  It cuts down on joint damage and  I won’t have to have additional surgery to have it removed.  It has now become a permanent part of me.  And the good news is that it is only 1.4mm thick and won’t set off metal detectors at the airport!  

 
I am posting the description of the new Lisfranc plates which I copied from Arthrex’s website.   If you would like more detailed information about the surgical procedure, check out this link:
 
 
under surgical technique guides click on “Lisfranc Reduction for Injuries and Fusions using Lisfranc Plates
 
 
 
 
“Lisfranc Plates offer multiple solutions and are easily contoured to patient’s needs
The new Lisfranc Plates were designed to provide fixation for acute Lisfranc injuries and fusions of the tarsal-metatarsal joints. The unique design allows for compression along the Lisfranc ligament and allows the surgeon to visualize the healing process during recovery. These plates come in three different sizes with both left and right plates to fit any patient and are contoured to fit the Lisfranc anatomy at only 1.4 mm thick. 

  • •  Allows visualization of the Lisfranc joint during healing process 
  • •  Compresses along the Lisfranc ligament—along the line of injury 
  • •  Eliminates the joint damage that may occur with the use of screws and guide wires 
  • •  Bridge-plating preserves the joint surfaces and results in larger surface area for bony fusion 
  • •  1.4 mm maximum thickness, provides minimal prominence and low profile contouring 
  • •  Contoured to fit the1st/2nd metatarsal—cuneiform joints 
  • •  Allows room for normal interfrag screw placement”

    (Taken from Arthrex’s website) https://www.arthrex.com/foot-ankle/lisfranc-plates

    I was also given permission from my surgeon to start partial weight bearing after only 5 weeks, which is a lot earlier than what other lisfranc surgeons are recommending to their patients.  I am sure it is because of these new plates! 

2 comments
  1. Maz said:

    Thank you for this information it is six weeks after my operation for lisfranc fractures and I have been told by consultant today that I can begin partial weight bearing which I’m very happy with.

    • pinkeyp said:

      Hi Maz!
      Congratulations on your speedy recovery! How are things progressing now?

Leave a Reply

